top of page

A Poem for Chris...

I wrote this poem after I got the call about Chris passing. I normally don't share anything that I write with people but if I can share my story about my life then I can share jus about anything now can't I? ! LOL 

GONE

One of the sweetest men alive, Such a kind beautiful heart, Full of love like no other. An illuminating smile That lit up any room. & then there’s that god awful laugh; Just like one of Scar's hyena’s, & no matter how hard you try You’d never be able to forget! You were the definition of what it was like To truly have a “Hard knocked life.” But you always managed to make it work, Even when the pain cut as deep as a knife. The more you struggled The more you overcame. Even through the setbacks, You'd somehow manage, To humbly stay the same. I’ll always remember the times we had together. Like when we would play, Football in the snow. Sometimes at your house, & some at mine, When it was always jus 2 girls, With all the guys. The many drunken nights Sometimes accompanied by the cops, & the occasional fist fight. But even then the party never stopped. The nights it would be just you & I, Some which we would spend on the phone, Wrapped in deep conversations & laughs Because we were bored & alone. Reminiscing about our crazy ass past. Talking about the present & wondering What each of our future’s hold, But of course now, It seems as though, Your story has now been told. We had a connection like no other could compare, Wild & crazy, Full of love & despair. But no matter what; We always came back together Always there for one another. A true friendship others only wish they could have. But sadly, All that’s left now are distant memories Faded with the past. So many songs now speak to me, So many meanings I never realized until now. So much depth & so much pain As I listen, I silently cry your name. Christopher James, Why did you have to leave me?! Your body is here; But your breathing is uneasy, Your mind is missing, There are no words, There are no sounds, Just silence. I hold your hand, But get no reaction, All I need is just a reaction. Please, just let me know That you know I am here… Anything... I’m begging you... PLEASE! Just give me a sign. All I can do is sit here & stare. At the man in front of me A man I once knew Slowly drift away to leave me. I can’t do this without you As I say my final goodbye, I solemnly kiss your hand, As tears fall from my eyes, My heart silently breaking, Little by little, slowly, Piece by piece. It’s all so surreal to me. As if it's all just a dream, A horrible nightmare, That I'll soon wake up from. But instead I'm still waiting. Someone please wake me up. Now that you’re gone… I can only hope You’re with your mother & father, & also with my mother. That all of you are now Watching over me & everyone else; Our guardian angels, Guiding & protecting us all through life. Forever my angel, Forever by my side. I’ll keep you always in my heart, No matter the time gone bye. Until the day we meet again, I’ll love & miss you my dear friend… R.I.P CHRISTOPHER JAMES OVERMAN 09/07/1985 – 11/29/2015


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page